Advisory Committee

A voluntary Advisory Committee has been appointed by the Secretary-General, with responsibility for evaluating nominations. All members are recognized for their expertise in the field of deep-sea science (natural and/or applied); social sciences and humanities with experience in the law of the sea; international law; or management of marine resources.

Members of the Committee are:


Annick de Marffy Mantuano
President of the Scientific Board of the Economic Law of the Sea Institute (INDEMER, Monaco)    



Chunhui Tao
Researcher/Deputy Director of China Deepsea Exploration Tech and Geoscience R&D Centre, Second Institute of Oceanography



David Billet
Director, Deep Seas Environmental Solutions Ltd


Lawrence Folajimi Awosika
Vice Chairman of the Commission on the Limits of the
Continental Shelf (CLCS)


SG's Award for Excellence in Deep Sea Research