



Advance Unedited Version 2 August 2024

English only

Twenty-ninth session Kingston, 29 July-2 August 2024 Agenda item 19 Election to fill the vacancies on the Council, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the Convention

# Decision of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election to fill the vacancies on the Council of the Authority in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

#### The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority,

*Recalling* that, in accordance with article 161, paragraph 3, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Elections shall take place at regular sessions of the Assembly. Each member of the Council shall be elected for four years",

*Elects* the following to fill the vacancies in the Council of the International Seabed Authority for a four-year period as from 1 January 2025 to 31 December 2028, subject to the understandings reached in the regional and interest groups:<sup>1</sup>

Group A China Japan Group B

India

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The agreed allocation of seats on the Council is 10 seats to the Group of African States, 9 seats to the Group of Asia-Pacific States, 8 seats to the Group of Western European and Other States, 7 seats to the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States and 3 seats to the Group of Eastern European States. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with the understanding reached in 1996 (ISBA/A/L.8), each regional group other than the Group of Eastern European States will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group that relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.

## **Group** C

Canada South Africa

## **Group D**

Bangladesh<sup>2</sup>

Brazil

Uganda

#### **Group E**

Argentina

Costa Rica

Mauritius

Morocco

Netherlands<sup>3</sup>

Poland

Spain<sup>4</sup>

Tanzania

Trinidad and Tobago

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland<sup>5</sup>

214<sup>th</sup> meeting 2 August 2024

 $<sup>^2</sup>$  Bangladesh is re-elected for a period of four years (2025–2028), on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat in Group D to the Philippines for the year 2027.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The Netherlands is elected for a four-year term (2025-2028) as a member of Group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat to Belgium for the year 2025 and to Norway for the years 2026 and 2028.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Spain is elected for a four-year term (2025-2028) as a member of Group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat to Portugal for the year 2025.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> The United Kingdom is elected for a four-year term (2025-2028) as a member of Group E, on the understanding that it will relinquish its seat to Ireland for the year 2025.