Relinquishment of a seat in the Council of the International Seabed Authority (1996-2022)

- 1. In accordance with section 3, paragraph 15, of the Annex to the 1994 Agreement, the Council shall consist of 36 members elected by the Assembly.
- 2. However, in attempting a formula for equitable geographic distribution among the membership of the Council, the Assembly agreed on the following formula:¹

Groups	Seats
Group of African States	10
Group of Asia-Pacific States	9
Group of Eastern European States	3
Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	7
Group of Western European and Other States	8

- 3. Since the total number of seats allocated according to that formula is 37, it is understood that, in accordance with an understanding reached in 1996,² each regional group other than the Eastern European Group will relinquish a seat in rotation. The regional group which relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group to participate in the deliberation of the Council without the right to vote, during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat.
- 4. The information of the relinquishment of a seat in the Council is as follows:

Session	YEAR	GROUP	STATE
2 nd	1996	ISBA/A/L.8 and ISBA/A/L.8/Corr.1	
3 rd	1997	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	X ³
4 th	1998	Group of Western European and Other States	Austria
5 th	1999	Group of African States	X ⁴
6 th	2000	Group of Asia-Pacific States	Philippines
7 th	2001	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	Guyana
8 th	2002	Group of Western European and Other States	Malta
9 th	2003	Group of African States	Algeria
10 th	2004	Group of Asia-Pacific States	Myanmar
11 th	2005	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	Trinidad and Tobago
12 th	2006	Group of Western European and Other States	Canada
13 th	2007	Group of African States	Senegal
14 th	2008	Group of Asia-Pacific States	Fiji
15 th	2009	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	Guyana
16 th	2010	Group of Western European and Other States	France

¹ See ISBA/A/L.8 and ISBA/A/L.8/Corr.1.

² Ibid.

³ There were 6 members of the Council from the Latin American and Caribbean Group.

⁴ There were 9 members of the Council from the African Group.

17 th	2011	Group of African States	Angola
18 th	2012	Group of Asia-Pacific States	Qatar
19 th	2013	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	Brazil
20 th	2014	Group of Western European and Other States	Italy
21 st	2015	Group of African States	South Africa
22 nd	2016	Group of Asia-Pacific States	Bangladesh
23 rd	2017	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	N/A (36 members)
24 th	2018	Group of Western European and Other States	N/A (36 members)
25 th	2019	Group of African States	Mozambique
26 th	2020 & 2021	Group of Asia-Pacific States	Tonga
27 th	2022	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	Jamaica
28 th	2023	Group of Western European and Other States	
29 th	2024	Group of African States	
30 th	2025	Group of Asia-Pacific States	
31 st	2026	Group of Latin American and Caribbean States	