## Assembly

Distr. LIMITED

ISBA/A/L.8 21 March 1996 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Second Session Kingston, Jamaica 11-22 March 1996

# Composition of the First Council of the International Seabed Authority 1/2/

#### <u>Group</u> A

<u>United States</u> is elected for a 2-year term with the understanding that it could be reelected for another 4 years if it so wishes.

<u>Russian Federation</u> is elected for a 2-year term with the same understanding as with the United States.

Japan is elected for a 4-year term.

United Kingdom is elected for a 4-year term.

#### <u>Group</u>B

France is elected for a 4-year term.

China is elected for a 4-year term.

India is elected for a 2-year term to be reelected in 2000 for a 4-year term.

Germany is elected for a 2-year term to be reelected in 1998 for a 4-year term

NOTE:1. The Netherlands will be elected in 1998 for 4-year term.

2. Other States eligible to represent Group B can contest any vacant seat after 4 years.

Group C

Australia is elected for a 2-year term

Chile is elected for a 2-year term.

<u>Indonesia</u> is elected for a 4 year term with the understanding that after 2 years it will relinquish the seat: to Poland to complete the remaining 2 years.

Zambia is elected for a 4 year term with the understanding that after 2 years it will relinquish the seat to Gabon to complete the remaining 2 years.

NOTE: Indonesia and Zambia as well as any other State eligible to be represented in Group C can contest after 2 years the 2 seats to be vacated by Australia and Chile

### Group D

Oman is elected for a 4-year term.

Bangladesh is elected for a 2-year term.

Brazil is elected for a 4-year term

<u>Trinidad and Tobago</u> will serve in the Council for a total period of 4 years and Paraguay for a total period of 2 years. For this purpose, Trinidad and Tobago is first elected to serve a 1-year term in Group D against a 2-year seat and thereafter replace Paraguay in Group E for the remaining 3 years. Trinidad and Tobago will be replaced in Group D by Jamaica for the remaining 1 year. Paraguay, after serving 1 year in Group E will take an additional seat in Group E for 1 year vacated by the Western European and Others Group.

<u>Cameroon</u> is elected for a 2-year term.

<u>Nigeria</u> is elected for a. 4-year term with the understanding that it will serve only during the first two years and then relinquish the seat to Sudan to serve for 2 years in order to complete the 4-year term.

NOTE: The representation of interests distributed among the regional groups in Group D at this election shall be without prejudice to the allocation of these interests in future elections.

#### Group E

Republic of Korea is elected for a 2-year term.

<u>Philippines</u> is elected for a 4-year term but in the fourth year (1999) they will occupy the seat in which it will participate in the deliberation of the Council without the right to vote.

Malaysia is elected to a 2-year term.

Poland is elected for a 2-year term.

<u>Ukraine</u> is elected for a 4-year term.

Italy is elected for a 4-year term, but will relinquish its seat in the third year to Belgium.

<u>Austria</u> will be elected for a 2-year term, but in the framework of the rotation agreement, will relinquish its seat in the second year. Austria has been designated to participate in the deliberations of the council without the right to vote during this second year.

<u>The Netherlands</u> will be elected for a 2-year term but will relinquish its seat in the second year to Belgium.

As of 1998 the seat reverting to the Western European and Others Group in Group E will be occupied by Austria in the first year and by Belgium in the second year.

<u>Egypt</u> is elected for a 2-year term with the understanding that after 2 years, Egypt will be elected to Group D for a 4-year term but will relinquish the seat in Group D after serving for 2 years; the candidate to occupy the remaining 2 years of the term in Group D will be decided by the African Group at that time.

<u>Sudan</u> is elected for a 2-year term [after which it will replace Nigeria in Group D for the remaining 2 years of the 4-year term in which Nigeria is elected].

South Africa is elected for a 2-year term.

<u>Senegal</u> is elected for 4-year term.

Tunisia is elected for a 2-year term.

Kenya is elected for 4-year term.

Namibia is elected for a 4-year term.

Argentina is elected for a 4-year term.

<u>Paraguay</u> is elected for a 4-year term, with the understanding that it will serve only the first year, after which it will relinquish the seat to Trinidad and Tobago for the remaining 3 years.

Cuba is elected for a 2-year term.

NOTE: 1. Paraguay, after serving one year in Group E will occupy the seat in Group E

which will be relinquished by the Western European and Others Group for that year.

- 2. In order to maintain the 9 seats allocated to the Asian Group when Poland occupies the seat relinquished by Indonesia in Group C after 2 years, Indonesia will occupy the seat relinquished by Poland in Group E so that Indonesia can complete its 4-year term unless it is able to secure a vacant seat in Group C.
- 1/ The burden-sharing with regard to one seat in the Council shall take place during the first four years of the Council. After the first four years, the principle of burden-sharing, on an equal and equitable basis, shall continue to be respected involving the five regional groups and taking into account the situation at that time, in particular the effect of the termination of the provisional membership in the Assembly.

Taking into account the informal understanding of 28 July 1994, contained in document A/48/950, Annex II, in the first four years the burden-sharing will be among four regional groups namely <u>Africa</u>, <u>Asia</u>, <u>Latin America and the</u> <u>Caribbean</u> and <u>Western Europe and Others</u> and will require that each of the four regional groups contribute one seat for one year. In this context,

In the first year, the Latin American and Caribbean Group shall have six seats;

In the second year, the Western European and Others Group shall have seven seats;

In the third year, the African Group shall have nine seats; and

In the fourth year, the Asian Group shall have eight seats.

2/ The regional group which relinquishes a seat will have the right to designate a member of that group in the Assembly to participate in the deliberations of the Council without the right to vote during the period the regional group relinquishes the seat

96-50065