

# **Council**

**Advance Unedited Version** 29 July 2022

**English only** 

# **Twenty-seventh session**

Council session, part II Kingston, 18–29 July 2022 Agenda item 6

Election of members of the Legal and Technical Commission

# Decision of the Council of the International Seabed Authority relating to the election of members of the Legal and Technical Commission

The Council of the International Seabed Authority,

Considering the matter of the election of members of the Legal and Technical Commission for the period 2023-2027,

Recalling article 163, paragraphs 3 and 4, of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,1 which provides that candidates nominated for the Commission shall have appropriate qualifications in the area of competence of the Commission and that in the election of members of the Commission, due account shall be taken of the need for equitable geographical distribution and the representation of special interests,

- 1 Decides, on an exceptional and temporary basis, without prejudice to future elections, and with due regard to economy and efficiency, to increase the number of members of the Commission as provided for in this decision.
- 2. Also *decides*, following the expiration of the silence procedure of 5 days after the closure of the nomination period referred to in paragraph 3, to elect the following candidates, as members of the Legal and Technical Commission for the period 2023-2027:

### As referred to in ISBA/27/C/23:

Alcock, Mark (Australia)

Algethami, Noorah (Saudi Arabia)

Aloupi, Niki (France)

Aurelio, Juan Mario (Philippines)

Camaño Moreno, Andrés (Chile)

Chaves Pinto Ribeiro, Luísa Joubert (Portugal)

Cherkashev, Georgy Alexandrovich (Russian Federation)

Clark, Malcolm (New Zealand)

Copley, Jon (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

Darko, Richard Addo (Ghana)

Egede, Edwin (Nigeria)

Eriksen, Sissel (Norway)

Fukushima, Tomohiko (Japan)

González Minaya, Juan Luis (Dominican Republic)

Ha, Dao Viet (Viet Nam)

Hirsch, Federico Gabriel (Argentina)

Ju, Se-Jong (Republic of Korea)

Kanu, Michael Imran (Sierra Leone)

Lara Cabrera, Erasmo Alonso (Mexico)

Maestro González, Adolfo (Spain)

Marzone, Affonso Rêgo Gavino (Brazil)

Metwally, Gamal Abdelrehim Mohamed (Egypt)

Nowak, Piotr (Poland)

Nugroho, Haryo (Indonesia)

Pape, Ellen (Belgium)

Rühlemann, Carsten Michael (Germany)

Tuhumwire, Joshua T. (Uganda)

Walker, Michelle (Jamaica)

Yang, Shengxiong (China)

# As referred to in ISBA/27/C/23/Add.1:

Utoikamanu, Siosiua (Tonga)

Sethuraman, Ramesh (India)

### As referred to in ISBA/27/C/23/Add.2:

Ndougsa Mbarga, Theophile (Cameroon)

#### As referred to in ISBA/27/C/23/Add.3:

Kainge, Paulus (Namibia)

# As referred to in ISBA/27/C/23/Add.4:

Mtavangu, Vicent Bartholomew (Tanzania)

#### As referred to in ISBA/27/C/23/Add.5:

Gikuhi, Michael (Kenya)

3. Decides to reopen the period for the nomination of candidates for the 2022 election for a period of 10 working days, starting Monday August 1, 2022, to allow member States of the Authority belonging to the following regional groups to

present a maximum number of additional candidates emanating from their regional group, to be elected as members of the Legal and Technical Commission for the period 2023-2027 by silence procedure of five working days after the nomination period, as follows:

African Group: one additional candidate
Asia Pacific: one additional candidate

Eastern European group: up to three additional candidates

GRULAC: up to two additional candidates

4. Recognizes past efforts to address the issue of elections of members to the Legal and Technical Commission and encourages further efforts to develop a mechanism in the context of an informal working group to provide more certainty and stability on the composition of the Commission for future elections.

289<sup>th</sup> Meeting 29 July 2022