ISA Assembly Elects Vice Presidents, Begins Debate On Report Of The Secretary-General

The Assembly of the International Seabed Authority yesterday elected Bangladesh (Asian Group), Uganda (African Group), Czech Republic (Eastern European Group) and Trinidad and Tobago (Group of Latin American and Caribbean States) as its Vice-Presidents for 2010.

Also elected to the Credentials Committee were the representatives of Australia, China, Haiti, Namibia, Russian Federation, Senegal, Spain, Suriname and Viet Nam.

The Assembly continues with its debate this morning on the report of the Secretary-General and the work of the Authority.