Contribution of ISA to the Sustainable Development Goals

What are the Sustainable Development Goals?

Sustainable Development Goals Logo

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, were adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015 as a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity by 2030. The 17 Goals are all interconnected —that is, they recognize that action in one area will affect outcomes in others, and that development must balance social, economic and environmental sustainability.

Sustainable Development Goals Wheel SDG 1 - No Poverty SDG 4 - Quality Education SDG 5 - Gender Equality SDG 8 - Decent Work and Economic Growth SDG 9 - Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure SDG 12 - Responsible Consumption and Production SDG 13 - Climate Action SDG 14 - Life Below Water SDG 16 - Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions SDG 17- Partnerships for the Goals


Through the distribution of payments received by ISA in accordance with equitable sharing criteria.


Through the promotion of the transfer of skills and knowledge through training programmes and scholarships to least developed countries, small island developing States and African countries.


Encouragement of gender equality through dedicated efforts to increase from developing States to participate in marine scientific research programmes


Through its contribution to:

  • sustainable economic growth and the promotion of access for least developed countries to the Area and its resources
  • the protection of labour rights for those engaged in activities in the Area in conjunction with the International Labour Organization.


Through its contribution to improving the technological capabilities of developing countries.

SDG 12

Through the encouragement of sustainable production practices.

SDG 13

Through the development of specific research programmes designed to improve the assessment of essential ecological functions of the deep sea oceans through long-term underwater oceanographic observatories in the Area.

SDG 14

Through its contribution to increasing scientific knowledge, developing research capacity and the transfer of marine technology and the advancement of a common and uniform approach, consistent with the Convention and international law, to the sustainable use of ocean resources.

SDG 16


  • the promotion of the rule of law;
  • the development of effective, accountable and transparent institutions at all levels;
  • responsive, inclusive, participatory and representative decision-making at all levels;
  • broadened and strengthened

    participation of developing countries in the institutions of global governance

SDG 17

SDG17: Through fostering strategic partnerships, including with the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund to enhance the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development to support the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals

What is ISA’s role?

ISA is committed to contributing to the timely and effective implementation of the SDGs, in particular SDG14 to conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development. ISA does this by implementing the economic, environmental and social mandates assigned to it under UNCLOS and the 1994 Agreement.

ISA's Mandates

Ensuring that activities in the Area are carried out for the benefit of mankind as a whole
Ensuring effective protection for the marine environment; and of human life
Promoting and encouraging the conduct of marine scientific research in the Area, and the effective participation of developing States in activities in the Area